Galerie Christian Collin

Old prints and modern prints
Contemporary prints
Japanese prints

buy-sell

François FEYDY

François Feydy was graduated from l'école Estienne in 2017 for the creation of Tsongor, an art book based on La Mort du Roi Tsongor by Laurent Gaudé.

He continued his apprenticeship with Torben Bo Halbirk, a Danish printmaker, assisting him on his Pandora series in his studio rue du Chemin Vert in Paris. François Feydy discovers at his side a very pictorial way of approaching printmaking, through the use of Hayter-style printing processes and overprints. 

Since 2020, he has created with Louis Genty and Théo Brajeul the Atelier du Merle, du Brave et du Bovin, a printmaking workshop where craftsmanship and art printmaking cohabit. 

Engraving is at the heart of his practice. François Feydy looks for instability, surprise, loss of control. With a technique such as bitumen, the material blooms by itself; Hayter printing offers him unique superimpositions of colours thanks to a strange alchemy of dilution; the use of an unconventional material such as cardboard pushes him to reinvent traditional processes in order to explore new ranges of textures. This constant dialogue between his imagination and the matrix is the driving force of his creation.

Adapted to illustration, the vibrancy of engraving creates a singular writing. The materials become cliffs, forests and castles; the mezzontint rocker cuts, gusts, bark and bouquets. The motifs bring the refinement and magic of tales. Like the fantasy oscillating between the marvellous and the real, he maintains a balance between the figurative and the abstract.

Recently, François Feydy has also taken printmaking into the realm of digital art and performance. François Feydy is currently developing a trans-disciplinary project that is a synthesis of all these passions: Sur la Lande: a multi-media project involving comics, engraving, computer-aided design and video.

 
  • FEYDY François

  • (Paris, 1997)

    Hakao

    Etching, aquatint, mezzotint and drypoint

  • 400 EUR
  • See the technical
  • FEYDY François

  • (Paris, 1997)

    Tundra

    Bitumen and crevés, Hayter impression

  • 400 EUR
  • See the technical
  • FEYDY François

  • (Paris, 1997)

    Falaise

    Mezzotint rocker and drypoint

  • 150 EUR
  • See the technical

Galerie Christian Collin

Gravures anciennes et gravures modernes
Gravures contemporaines
Estampes japonaises

achat-vente

François FEYDY

François Feydy sort diplômé de l’école Estienne en 2017 pour la réalisation de Tsongor, livre d’art d’après La Mort du Roi Tsongor de Laurent Gaudé.

Il poursuit son apprentissage aux côté de Torben Bo Halbirk, artiste graveur danois, en l’assistant sur sa série Pandora dans son atelier rue du Chemin Vert à Paris. François Feydy découvre à ses côtés une manière très picturale d’envisager la gravure, par l’utilisation des procédés d’impressions à la Hayter et des surimpressions. 

Depuis 2020, il a créé avec Louis Genty et Théo Brajeul l’Atelier du Merle, du Brave et du Bovin, atelier de gravure faisant cohabiter artisanat et gravure d’art.

La gravure est au cœur de sa pratique. François Feydy y recherche l’instabilité, la surprise, la perte de contrôle. Avec une technique comme le bitume, la matière fleurit d’elle même ; l’impression à la Hayter lui offre des superpositions de couleurs uniques grâce à une étrange alchimie de dilution ; l’utilisation d’un matériau non conventionnel comme le carton le pousse à réinventer les procédés traditionnels pour explorer de nouvelles gamme de textures. Ce dialogue constant entre son imaginaire et la matrice est le moteur de sa création.

Adaptée à l’illustration, la vibrance de la gravure crée une écriture singulière. Les matières deviennent falaises, forêts et châteaux ; les entailles de berceau, rafales, écorces et bouquets. Les motifs apportent le raffinement et la magie des contes. À l’instar du fantastique oscillant entre merveilleux et réel, il maintient un équilibre entre figuratif et abstrait.

Depuis peu, François Feydy amène aussi la gravure vers les arts numériques et la performance. Il développe actuellement un projet transdisciplinaire synthèse de toutes ces passions : Sur la Lande : projet multisupport impliquant BD, gravure, MAO et vidéo.

 
  • FEYDY François

  • (Paris, 1997)

    Hakao

    Eau-forte, aquatinte, manière noire et pointe sèche

  • 400 EUR
  • Voir cette fiche
  • FEYDY François

  • (Paris, 1997)

    Tundra

    Bitume et crevés, impression à Hayter

  • 400 EUR
  • Voir cette fiche
  • FEYDY François

  • (Paris, 1997)

    Falaise

    Berceau et pointe sèche

  • 150 EUR
  • Voir cette fiche